The Loki Sword

This is the third volume in my Viking Fire Born series, featuring my heroes Bjarki Bloodhand and Tor Hildarsdottir . . . it will be published in August 2022 and follows on from The Saxon Wolf

An ancient blade, fit for the gods, but tainted by a curse . . . 

Spring, AD 776

Bjarki Bloodhand has finally managed to subdue his gandr, the spirit that gives him the ferocity of a bear in battle. Yet losing his berserker prowess may leave him at the mercy of his foes.

Meanwhile, his half-sister, the shield maiden Tor Hildarsdottir, has slain two warriors from the personal retinue of the new Jarl of Norrland – and now faces brutal reprisals for their deaths.

Valtyr Far-Traveller claims he has a solution to their problems: a long voyage south to the wild Slav lands to find a fabled lost sword said to once belong to the Norse trickster god.

The journey will prove more perilous than anything Bjarki or Tor has ever attempted before. Can all three heroes hope to survive the desperate hunt for… The Loki Sword?

The epic third novel in the Fire Born saga, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Giles Kristian, and Matthew Harffy.

Praise for the Last Berserker (Fire Born 1)

‘Donald has taken the legendary berserkers, those frothing-at-the-mouth shield-biters, and made them human, which once again proves that Donald is a writer not only at the top of his game, but of the game … It is a wonderful, rich and violent brew. I welcome Angus Donald to the shield wall of Viking fiction like a thirsty man welcomes a mead-brother to the feast … A tale worthy of the skalds’ Giles Kristian, author of the Raven series

‘With The Last Berserker, Donald has given us the first cut of some serious Dark Age beef. By turns heart-racing, intriguing, and touching, this is not a book for the faint-hearted – I can’t wait for more’ Theodore Brun, author of A Burning Sea

The Last Berserker strikes with the thundering power of Thor’s hammer… rich with the earthy depth, historical detail, intrigue, violence and adventure that we expect from Donald. But it is Bjarki and Tor that make The Last Berserker stand out… Donald’s masterful creations will live on in the imagination long after the final page’ Matthew Harffy, author of the Bernicia Chronicles

Buy from Amazon

Comments (1)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *